The Fourth of July

Usually, my (extremely large Filipino) family and I aren’t too keen on celebrating the Fourth. We often end up doing our own thing — sometimes watching fireworks in a different part of town, getting together for dinner at someone’s house, shooting off our own (illegal) fireworks in the neighborhood, or merely gazing into the dark sky on our own time in hopes of seeing a flicker of lights from the rooftop.

This time, we managed to plan a last-minute get-together with the family and surprisingly, we enjoyed a great turnout of our family. We had a nicely organized food spread (I decided to not post these pictures just yet), great rounds of Badminton games (my little cousins are quite competitive), and a beautiful end to the day with a wedding proposal from my soon-to-be cousin-in-law (proposal picture featured below).

Some of my favorite pictures from that day taken with my new Canon T5I:

IMG_0606 IMG_0773 IMG_0778

With that said, there’s also some history that comes with being Filipino-American and celebrating this “National Holiday”. July 4th is not only celebrating America and its independence, but it’s the date when the United States declared the Philippines independent from their 50 year rule. I think it’s important to celebrate who we are, but in order to do so, we need to also celebrate how we got to that point where we can freely celebrate our culture, love, and independence.

All in all, I’m glad I got to spend the day with my family. I got to get in some great practice with my new camera and capture some really awesome (and candid) moments from the fourth.

Leave a Reply

